Glossary of Dietary Requirements For Catering

Dietary Restrictions

Vegan: A person who does not consume any items derived from animals. Includes, eggs, dairy, honey, and stock made from a beef base.

Ovo-Vegetarian:  Almost a vegan. But they still eat eggs. Ovo-Vegetarians eat mostly plants and no meat, fish or dairy products.

Pescetarians – Does not eat meat. Eats a vegetarian diet but they also eat fish..

Food Allergies

Nuts: A peanut allergy is very common and could cause a serious and possibly fatal reaction. If a guest has a peanut allergy you should avoid any kind of nut, even artificial. Also be mindful of dishes that may be cooked in peanut oil.

Fructose malabsorption:  formerly named “dietary fructose intolerance” (DFI), is a digestive disorder in which absorption of fructose is impaired by deficient fructose carriers in the small intestine’s enterocytes.

Gluten: Rye, barley, and wheat all contain the protein known as gluten. In gluten intolerant individuals, this specific protein can lead to diarrhoea, abdominal distress, gassiness, and other digestive issues. Celiac disease is often mixed up with gluten intolerance and can be mistakenly considered to be an allergy.

Religious Dietary Restrictions

Judaism / Kosher Foods
Does not eat:  Animal-based stabilisers or emulsifiers, non-kosher meats, gelatin, non-kosher seafood (e.g. prawns, sturgeon, turbot, skate, shellfish, skate), birds of prey.


Does not eat: Pig meat or any substance from a pig (e.g. lard), non-halal gelatin, meat slaughtered in a way that is against Islamic tradition, meat from any slaughtered animal considered “lawful”, alcoholic beverages or food containing alcohol, blood, carnivorous birds and animals, certain non-halal additives.